English Department


With the rapid and continually accelerating rate of change in the modern world, today's student must be prepared to adapt to many new situations. Among these are changes in technology, society, the work environment, the home, and education. Research indicates that a strong command of the English language is essential to success in all of these areas of endeavor. The English program at Thornton Fractional District 215 is devoted to the development of competency in reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and critical thinking--intrinsic aspects of any effective English curriculum. In addition, the department emphasizes the development of a sense of civic and social responsibility, as well as fostering a better understanding of self and others. Only by directing conscientious effort toward all of these concerns can a student truly maximize his or her potential, for English is the key to all learning and understanding as well as the instrument which transmits our cultural heritage.

Eight semesters of English are required to graduate. Students must take an English credit each semester. However, students may select additional English courses in their junior and/or senior year as electives. Requirements include:

  • English 9
  • English 10
  • Introduction to Writing or Expository Writing
  • Oral Communications
  • Two English electives.

English Department Class Links and Files

Free English Classes' Novels Available Online

Honors English 9

All Quiet on the Western Front
http://www.questia.com/library/book/all-quiet-on-the-western-front-by-erich-maria-remarque-a-w-wheen.jspCRID=bp_all_quiet_on_the_western_front_by_erich_maria_remarque_a_w_wheen&
OFFID=se1&KEY=bp_all_quiet_on_the_western_front


Romeo and Juliet
http://www.online-literature.com/shakespeare/romeo_and_juliet/ 

English 9

Romeo and Juliet
http://www.online-literature.com/shakespeare/romeo_and_juliet/

To Kill a Mockingbird
http://www.edmondschools.net/portals/3/docs/sue newman/tkam text/to_kill_a_mockingbird_text.pdf

Honors English 10

Great Gatsby
http://ebooks.adelaide.edu.au/f/fitzgerald/f_scott/gatsby/

AP Literature

Pride and Prejudice
http://www.classicreader.com/book/28/

Great Expectations
http://www.classicreader.com/book/52/

The Inferno
http://dantealighieri.classicauthors.net/DivineComedyThe/DivineComedyThe2.html

English 12

Othello
http://www.online-literature.com/shakespeare/othello/

Pygmalion 

http://www.classicreader.com/book/1126/ 

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/3825/3825-h/3825-h.htm  

Pygmalion (Audio Version)

https://librivox.org/pygmalion-by-george-bernard-shaw/  

Language and Composition

1984
http://ebooks.adelaide.edu.au/o/orwell/george/o79n/

Othello
http://www.online-literature.com/shakespeare/othello/

Frankenstein
http://www.classicreader.com/book/88/

Turn It In.Com

Turn It In.Com Student User Guide

 

 

Staff

Ms. Wendy Bivins
Phone:  (708) 585-1136
Email:  wbivins@tfd215.org

Mr. Michael Furmanek
Phone:  (708) 585-1052
Email:  mfurmanek@tfd215.org 

Mrs. Carrie Hood
Phone:  (708) 585-1059
Email:  chood@tfd215.org

Ms. Kimberly Isberg
Phone:  (708) 585-1053
Email:  kisberg@tfd215.org 

Mr. Michael Kawa
Phone:  (708) 585-1135                                Email:  mkawa@tfd215.org 

Ms. Michelle Koppitz
Phone:  (708) 585-1053
Email: 
mkoppitz@tfd215.org 

Ms. Jodi Marshall
Phone:  (708) 585-1034
Email:  jmarshall@tfd215.org

Mr. Marc Meierkort
Phone:  (708) 585-1084                                Email:  mmeierkort@tfd215.org 

Ms. Sheri Murawski
Phone:  (708) 585-1044                                Email:  smurawski@tfd215.org 

Ms. Christin Passarelli
Phone:  (708) 585-1129                                Email:  cpassarelli@tfd215.org 

Mr. Shaunwell Posley
Phone:  (708) 585-1067
Email:  sposley@tfd215.org

Mr. Christopher Russo
Phone:  (708) 585-1172
Email:  crusso@tfd215.org 

Mr. Raymond Smith
Phone:  (708) 585-1157
Email:  rsmith@tfd215.org 

Mr. Joseph Stephan
Phone:  (708) 585-1088
Email:  jstephan@tfd215.org

Mrs. Tiffany Stewart-Williams, Instructional Leader 
Phone:  (708) 585-1158
Email:  tstewart@tfd215.org