English

With the rapid and continually accelerating rate of change in the modern world, today's student must be prepared to adapt to many new situations. Among these are changes in technology, society, the work environment, the home, and education. Research indicates that a strong command of the English language is essential to success in all of these areas of endeavor. The English program at Thornton Fractional District 215 is devoted to the development of competency in reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary and critical thinking--intrinsic aspects of any effective English curriculum.

In addition, the department emphasizes the development of a sense of civic and social responsibility, as well as fostering a better understanding of self and others. Only by directing conscientious effort toward all of these concerns can a student truly maximize his or her potential, for English is the key to all learning and understanding as well as the instrument which transmits our cultural heritage.


Teachers and Staff

Bridgette Alexander
Reading Paraprofessional
(708) 585-2147
balexander@tfd215.org  

Michael Brown
English
(708) 585-2148
mbrown@tfd215.org
http://www.mrbrowntfs.com/

Kimberly Bywater
Reading / English
(708) 585-2177
kbywater@tfd215.org

Erica Heilmann
English/Theater Arts
(708) 585-2017
eheilmann@tfd215.org

Chris Jones
English / Journalism
(708) 585-2125
cjones@tfd215.org
 
Julie Kelly
English / AP Literature
(708) 585-2083
jkelly@tfd215.org
http://classjump.com/j/jkelly/index.php
 

Gloria Kijewski
English / AP Language and Composition
(708) 585-2160
gkijewski@tfd215.org

Alexandra LeFlore
English
(708) 585-2030
aleflore@tfd215.org  

Tracy Massucci
Reading
(708) 585-2189
tmassucci@tfd215.org
http://www.massucci.weebly.com/

Debbie Murtaugh
Reading / English
(708) 585-2192
dmurtaugh@tfd215.org
http://moodle.tfd215.org

 

Tricia O'Connor 
English
708) 585-2002
toconnor@tfd215.org

 

Giena Palmer-Reed
English
(708) 585-2179
gpalmer-reed@tfd215.org
 

Tony Paulauski
English
(708) 585-2143
tpaulauski@tfd215.org
http://classjump.com/m/mrp/

Kim Praser
English / AP Language and Composition
(708) 585-2068
kpraser@tfd215.org
http://www.mrs.praser.com/

Doug Schlesser
English
(708) 585-2105
dschlesser@tfd215.org

Jennifer Seger
English
(708) 585-2149
jseger@tfd215.org
http://engspot.net

Patricia Stellfox
English / Yearbook
(708) 585-2059
pstellfox@tfd215.org 

Nikki Streit
English
(708) 585-2119
nstreit@tfd215.org

Ann Witting
English / Theater Arts
(708) 585-2146
awitting@tfd215.org